1 Comment

A Thanksgiving Prayer

Since getting home from my two week vacation to visit family in Ohio and Kansas, I have been attempting to catch up on the things that I am interested in.  This means reading blogs, newspapers, magazines, etc.  It was easy to note that this was the Thanksgiving holiday time.  Why?  Well, because a lot of people  write little missives about what they are thankful for, either as columns in a local paper, or as letters to the editor.  Some of the notes are beautiful and truly inspiring.  Others, unfortunately, end with something snarky such as, “… and who does an atheist thank?”

Some are probably concerned for my spiritual well being, and others are just acting superior because they believe a 2000 year fictional story about a delusional rabbi and his twelve unmarried male friends walking on water, raising the dead, turning water into wine, and condoning slavery.

For those who are truly concerned about my spiritual well being, I thank you.  For those of you who are just being jerks, allow me to be the first to let you know, you did get to me, I am offended.  That is what you intended, wasn’t it?  But, stay with me.  Let me tell you something that you probably didn’t know.  Yes, I am thankful, very thankful:

FIrst of all, I am thankful for my ancestors making the right decisions.  My dad at a very young age left Russia with his parents and came to the new world – much like the Jews leaving Anatevka in the play Fiddler on the Roof.  My mom was born in the US but her parents did exactly the same thing.  Though they are no longer around, I will be forever thankful.

I thank my wife for putting up with me for all these years.  We got married in our twenties, grew closer as we got older, and grew old together.  What could be better than that?  Thank you Glenda.  I appreciate you more than you will ever know.

I thank my family in Ohio that I just visited.  I thank my nephew and his wife for the really great thanksgiving meal.

I thank all of my family and extended family for being who they are.  They know my beliefs, as well as what I don’t believe, but still continue to accept me unquestioningly as a fellow Jew as well as a valued member of the family.

I thank my brother and sister-in-law for being who they are.  They have shown time after time that they always have the interest and ability to help those less fortunate than themselves, and exhibit great joy and enthusiasm in doing it.

I thank my brother for being my brother.  I am very proud of him.

I thank my extended family from Kansas for accepting me.  My background is different, my views are usually quite different but they have unquestioningly accepted me as one of their own.

Now, let me ask these spiritual know-it-alls who wanted to know “who would I thank”.  I thanked people who, in most cases, actually heard me, actually responded to me.  Who did you thank?  Deep down, do you really think that anyone heard you?  Maybe you ought to reconsider your views – and don’t worry about us atheists.  We’re fine, thank you.

One comment on “A Thanksgiving Prayer

  1. It is right to always give thanks for the good in the world. As for those who manipulate religion to act superior and offend others, we need to be thankful we don’t see them every day.

Leave a Reply

