5 Comments

Where is the “Liberal” Fox News?

With this country so evenly divided between those who would call themselves “Liberal” and those who would call themselves “Conservatives”, one would wonder where are the Liberal versions of Rush Limbaugh,  Sean Hannity,  Glenn Beck,  etc. As far as I can tell, there are none. Why, is that?

I know that I am not the first to have a question like that. At least one news network (MSNBC) is trying to be the liberal version of Fox News. I predict that they will fail if they try to get down to the Fox level — making stuff up. I  believe that the reason that a Liberal Fox network is doomed is because of liberals themselves. I know a few, either personally, or through their blogs. I know a few conservatives as well, and I do believe that the difference between the two is striking. Being liberal or being conservative is not as simple as being right handed or being left handed. It is far deeper than that.

The liberals that I know do not need — nor want — some blowhard to affirm their beliefs.  They know right from wrong.  They are willing to discuss their ideas and maybe, even, change their mind, but the idea of listening to someone like Limbaugh day after day so that they can be sure that what they believe is OK, is sheer nonsense.   It is not going to happen! I, for one, know what I believe and don’t need someone to tell me that I am ok or not ok with my beliefs. I AM ok with my beliefs.

The conservatives that I know are much more likely to be “one issue” people. For example, a politician’s stand on gun control will determine whether or not he gets the vote of the conservative voter whereas the liberal might feel strongly about the issue but is inclined to see how the politician feels about other issues as well.

You are not going to find many liberals who are racists, homophobes,  misogynists, or afraid of new ideas.   You are not going to find many liberals who are going to blindly follow the writings from ancient literature as it were unquestioningly applicable today.

I can’t remember who first said  “Everyone is entitled to his own opinion but not his own facts”, but when you listen to someone like Rush Limbaugh, Sarah Palin, Michelle Bachmann you know very well that they are making up stuff and rewriting history as they go along.  The sad thing is that they probably believe what they are saying.  Facts mean nothing!  I am sure that to her last day, Sarah Palin is going to insist that Paul Revere made his famous ride to warn the British that they were not going to be taking away our guns!  Michelle Backmann will continue to believe that the founding fathers worked tirelessly until slavery was no more in the United States.  So what was the Civil War all about?

I wish that I could present a solution to our problems but all that I can claim for right now is that I am beginning to understand the problems.

5 comments on “Where is the “Liberal” Fox News?

  1. Half the residents of this country ISN’T made up Liberals; only a little over 20% of the residents self-identify as Liberals, whereas 40% or of Americans are Conservatives.

    In point of fact, the Liberals residents of this country are on the decline, with fewer and fewer every year identifying as such.

  2. I accept what you said but I am curious as to how you would define people like The Tea Party, Michelle Bachmann, Herman Cain – Conservative or maybe “Something Else”? Do you think that these people are the best that America has to offer?

  3. Senator Patrick Moynihan said it.

Leave a Reply

